Train like Superman, Eat like a Caveman

Hi there,

I’m new to this, been lurking for a while but never turned to posting.

I’m a professional sportsman based in the UK, playing in a high collision sport and conditioned by a team of Paleo-preaching coaches.

I have been eating in accordance with the Paleo diet for 2 seasons now and have seen significant improvements in body composition.

However, while in intensive training programs, although I make significant strength gains I struggle to put on what is essentially MASS. ( Lean mass, of course). Also, any muscle hypertrophy is well…non existent. BUT, I do feel stronger, quicker, more explosive which is obviously most important. Yet, in a sport where perception is hugely influential in coaching decisions, a handful of extra Kg’s would be hugely appreciated.

Interested to hear your thoughts!

A

Are playing American football?

That is what I think of when I read/hear high collision sport.

You won’t add size without out surplus calories.

2 grams of protein per pound body weight (at least)

up your calories and adjust accordingly

make sure you’re getting quality carbs and protein before/during/after strength sessions

yada yada yada…

Putting on weight while playing sports is difficult due to the mass amounts of calories you’re burning. You will have to up your calories more than the normal weight lifter to see real gains. If you’re not counting your daily intake of calories and macronutrients doing so can really make the difference.

I used to use fitday.com to count my calories. But if you have a smart phone a lot of them have calorie counting apps now. Good luck man.

I would assume its pretty hard to eat a lot of calories eating paleo. Hats of for the paleo diet, but excluding starchy carbs is just not neccessarily a very good idea for a sportsman expending a ton of energy each day and still trying to gain mass.