Track & Cross Country

Im a track 400-800 runner and i decided to run cross country this season. My 400 pr is 55 & 800 is 2:22… i ran my first 3.2 mile course for CC i got 25… how can i improve my endurance and speed? I have lots of potential & experience maybe some techniques recommended.

Sorry, no magic bullet.

You must get on a proven program and you will improve your endurance and speed over time (as long as everything else is in line). The only real difference should be our stride. check with a coach for that one.

There’s a disconnect between your alleged 800 time and your 5k. If you really trained to a 2:22 half then you should already know how to train for the 5k.

Not really. I came from a 400-800m and 5k is quite different if you don’t pace yourself and if you the longest you have ever ran is 4k.

Projected 5k based off that 800 is 18:00 or so. I ran the 800 in track and our training was similar to cross country. Not the same but enough that I easily ran the 5 under 20 mins.

Well honestly i ran a slow pace for it being my first CC race i didnt wanna run my best because i was afraid I’d get tired easily. Yesterday we ran 5miles & i ran pretty hard so i believe my endurance is going up… im racing in a week so i would see if my time gets better.

Just do what your coach says. run during the off season. keep building up your miles

Go to runners world and ask this question.

OP don’t worry man, if you got there once and you’ll get there again. I can run a 5k in about 21 min but you’d have to put a gun to my head to run an 800 significantly less than 3min.

Just run.

The great news is you’ve already got speed; your endurance should follow quickly.

[quote]JRT6 wrote:
OP don’t worry man, if you got there once and you’ll get there again. I can run a 5k in about 21 min but you’d have to put a gun to my head to run an 800 significantly less than 3min.[/quote]