T Nation

Total Noob

Hello all,

I have been intensely interested in building my body for years, and now that I am out of the military I have the time and opportunity to pursue one of my lifelong goals and do some personal physical improvements.

I have never lifted weights before, I have never had the money to eat as much as I think i would need to make serious gains (and I still dont think that i make enough, but I am willing to eat myself into a hole if i need to), and honestly until the Army I was a lazy piece of shit. I have been crawling through the forms here for quite some time, trying to get a good feel for how I should get started. I figure I should look to those that ACTUALLY know what they are doing for advice and support instead of looking to gym trainers with questionable knowledge.

I am 6’2", 147lbs HARD gainer. I put on 30lbs in 9 weeks of basic training, but have been floating from 145-150 ever since. Military is the only physical background I have, aside from that I have sat infront of a computer my whole life.

I am not one to pussy around, i’m an all or none kind of guy. As it stands my plan is to jump right on in and start OVT (posted by CT) monday september 18th. I have taken this past week to give my muscles a bit of a warm up and did 4 days of core training (inclined benches, inclined dumbbells, pull downs, seated rows, hyperextensions, squats) and am giving myself the next few days to rest and stretch before I start hard. I would truely appreciate any input that anyone might have or any suggestions. I am going to view each of the video demo’s for each movement every day before I duplicate them at the gym so I can put all of my effort towards form. I’m not out to impress anyone other than myself.

If anyone has any helpful information or words of encouragement please let me know. I will be keeping record of my gains and body changes from week to week. Thanks for the input.