Total N00b

Hey everybody,

So im new to the whole weight thing. I just turned 18 and got some dumbells from a couple of my friends. I already did some pushups (quite proud, just broke 100pushups in a row) and situps at home, but never any real weight training.

im a swimmer and i play soccer

So my question is… Any tips on how to use these dumbells? im not really into going to the gym and i really only want to use the dumbells to generally get some strength and muscles.

Ill post some pics later, need to find a camera!

Thnx, Q

Hi,

Read alot before you post pics. You’ve been warned. :slight_smile:

There’s heaps of info scattered around the site for routines and technique - quite a few embedded videos as well. The stickies at the top of this forum have all the info you need as a newbie. Read them and apply.

However, if you don’t even know the basics I would highly recommend getting a mate/decent trainer to show you the ropes in terms of form.

Oh and don’t post those pics - you’ll be flamed! Read the sticky in ‘Physique and Performance Photos’

And with an attitude like that, you’re going to stay a total noob.

And i guess EVERY one wants a Tanka body like Arnie or this dude.

Geez, i just want to get fit, have a NICE looking body and have some fun. I dont take all this “ah ya know, just goin’ down to the gym to pump some iron” “Just a bit of stereroids wont hurt.”

Mate, i think my attitude is fine.

You should probably figure out what your goals are and whether or not you are willing to put in the ammount of time and effort that it will undoubtedly take to get it done.

Don’t post pictures.

And Christ, if you’re not into “going to the gym”, then why the fuck are you on a bodybuilding website?

[quote]FightinIrish26 wrote:
Don’t post pictures.

And Christ, if you’re not into “going to the gym”, then why the fuck are you on a bodybuilding website?

[/quote]