Total Body Workouts & Work Capacity

When using total body workouts I find myself fatigued in my later sets. I start off with squats or deadlifts because my legs need the most growth, and I usually don’t hit the upper body lifts as hard later in training.

I’m more used to splits. If I stick to total body can I expect my work capacity to increase to keep up?

If you want more training history I’ll give it. Basically I have been training for a while although not intelligently or consistently the whole time. I am new in the sense that I have a lot of natural potential to realize.

Any input is helpful.

Yes, of course.
It will take you a while at first, and you will perhaps dread it, but you’ll get used to it.
I wouldn’t place my deadlift or squat before everything else though, because they will wear you out.

Usually I put them after my a heavy press and a heavy row. It leaves enough energy after the squats or deads to do arms, shoulders or whatever.

Your body adapts, b ut your plan is goods, always do my 3 big lifts first.

Surge really helps with recovery and i seem to have a better 2nd and 3rd work out if i use it. Ive been doing Chad Waterbury’s Total body workout…but by week 3 it kicked my butt, but i am too much of a beginner to be trying that program i think.

[quote]Big Dan wrote:
When using total body workouts I find myself fatigued in my later sets. I start off with squats or deadlifts because my legs need the most growth, and I usually don’t hit the upper body lifts as hard later in training.

I’m more used to splits. If I stick to total body can I expect my work capacity to increase to keep up?

If you want more training history I’ll give it. Basically I have been training for a while although not intelligently or consistently the whole time. I am new in the sense that I have a lot of natural potential to realize.

Any input is helpful.[/quote]