T Nation

Total Beginner - Where Do I Start?

Hi, total beginner here, have never stepped foot in a gym until a few days ago, but am planning to get a membership and want to get stronger. FYI, am 25, 5'7, 130 lbs. I visited two gyms this week, but since I'm pretty weak and totally new, I was completely lost.

So...pls give advice for what exercises I should start out with. (And please note that I don't have a gym partner, so I'll want to start with things that don't require a spotter.) Thanks!

Milk and squats :slight_smile:

Hehe but on a serious note do that + a decent split and A LOT OF FOOOOOOOOOOD, fuck wanting to keep abs or whatever dude, just go on 531, Westside for Skinny Bastards, or like a 4/5/6 day split and hammer down for a year with clean foods and you will be sorted.

Well let’s see, i’m also a newbie as well.
First off you need to browse this site specifically the forums. the have so much information on this site.
Don’t get your self over whelmed with trying to take to much in at one time.
Start simple, pick a few work outs for the main muscle groups till you get your body used to working out and getting the motions and your form correct.
Next you need to have a goal, example your want to cut, lose weight,bulk up, you get my drift.
Most importantly don’t forget you nutrition, protien, protien, protien !
I hope my little bit of knowledge helps you out.
One other thing, i really suggest finding a partner. Being new you’ll get board and lose motivation, “my opinion completely”.

• Figure out a way to distribute the muscles you work out over a few day split.

• 5’7" at 130? Eat, bare minimum, 2800-3000 calories per day to start, with the goal of getting as close to 400 grams of protein as possible each day. If you’re not gaining weight consistently (like, 1 lb a week, whatever, make it consistent and not just fat,) then eat more.