T Nation

Total Beginner Training Help

So my sister wants to begin to workout with me at the gym and she wants to do some cardio and some strength training.
I was wondering how a 1 day or 2 day split should look like for a total beginner.
Which exercises, how many reps, sets etc?

Strong Lifts is always a good way to start. Check that out before anything. Also take everything you get off this forum with a grain of salt, some of these guys are retarded/uneducated in this field.

A 2-day split would look something like… Monday, Bench press 3x10 that’s 30 reps to build muscle/learn proper form. Follow that with overhead press. Then bent over rows keeping the at least 2 barbell movement per workout rule. Follow the same 3x10 basis on all lifts. Follow up with leg press, preferably one involving quad dominance and less hamstring. For the final exercise do hammer curls.

With that you’ve build a foundation of strength, Bench press for your core lift,overhead press for lockout power, barbell rows to assist lat involvement in the bench, Quads to assist in stability as your entire body is needed in the bench and hammer curls to increase stability in shoulder and elbow.

Wednesday Day: Start with squat 3x10 then deadlift 3x10. Keeping two barbell rule. Follow up with a hamstring machine of your choice 3x10, if you’re god blessed with a glute ham raise machine hop on it for the next movement otherwise do 3x10 lunges/step-ups or hip thrusts. Finish it off with lower back extensions.

This split is the foundation of strength. It’s up to you to learn the lifts properly and take full Advantage of them. Each day has 4 exercises 12 sets total and a total of 40 reps.

New rules of lifting for women, it’s a lot more than just a routine and will help with the learning process… Or any new rules books since Alwyn has said many times that sex really doesn’t matter with those series, but new rules for women may make her feel more comfortable to start.

[quote]Learning2Lift wrote: