Torn Muscles, Are They Ever the Same?

I had a partial tear in my right pec almost two years ago.

I initially saw an orthopedic guy who confirmed it was a tear in the muscle and rested as he advised for four months before I started doing any chest movements. started back with very light bands.

I eventually got graston done on it a few times and now I foam roll it frequently. but it is not even close to how it was before. weaker and feel vulnerable. hurts and gets weird sensations every now and then. doing dumbbell flies is out of the question, even with very light weights the stretching part feels very uneasy. although cable flies seem to be alright.

has anyone torn a muscle and what was your experience?

You’er going to just have to get over your fear and workout like you want to. Keep some bilateral work going to keep from over loading your strong side. I didn’t do that and wrecked my elbow because of it.

I have no experience with muscle tears. However, I have had some pretty weird injuries due to surgeries. My advice is to not let this get to your head. Train smart, learn how to come back from a pec tear, and trust it will be ok. Worrying about if it will get injured again is gonna fuck with your head, fuck with your training, and get you hurt because you’re compensating in an unnatural way. Do some research, make a plan you trust, and believe in it.

[quote]JRT6 wrote:
You’er going to just have to get over your fear and workout like you want to. Keep some bilateral work going to keep from over loading your strong side. I didn’t do that and wrecked my elbow because of it.[/quote]

I’ve been training it for a while now. sometimes it feels good, sometimes it feels off or even some pain. certain exercises seem to be worse than others.