Torn Labrum... Now What?

Hey guys,

I’ve been training off and on for about 15 years, mainly for athletic purposes but in the last year or so I decided to focus more on ‘bodybuilding’ I guess you could say. I successfully completed the V-Diet in January of 09 and then spent the better part of this year trying to gain some muscle & improve my overall strength. I’m 6’2, 220lbs 34 years old and managed to get my bench up to a respectable 350lbs. I haven’t had my bodyfat tested but I’m probably around the 12-15% mark.

Anyway, I woke up one morning with rather severe shoulder pain and haven’t been able to push much weight since. After every test possible, it turns out I have a severe labral tear that will require arthroscopic surgery hopefully sooner than later. Recovery is about a full 6 months from what I’ve been told so far.

My questions to you is what can I do to minimize my losses in both muscle mass and strength? My arm will be in a sling for 3-4 weeks and who knows how it’ll feel after that. I’m sure I can start on some leg stuff fairly soon, but I’m not 19 anymore and the last thing I want to do is end up in this position again. I use Metabolic Drive and Surge Recovery daily in addition to the staple supplements like EFA oil and other vitamins, but surely there’s stuff here that you guys would recommend that may speed recovery a bit?

Hope this wasn’t too long winded…your advice is appreciated. Thx

I didn’t know men had a labrum.

Otherwise I got nuthin’

I had arthroscopic surgery on my shoulder in December 08 and had a full recovery about 6-8 months later. To be clear I had fraying on my labrum and rotator cuff and not actually a full tear as it appears you have. I was out of my sling within a week and had 80% of my mobility back within a month after that. I was 30 when I got my surgery so the whole young and able to bounce back thing wasn’t my situation either.