T Nation

Torn Disc and Recovery

I am looking to see if there is anything that I can do to spped up the process of back injury. I have been lifting for 7 years now and have stayed pretty healthy. I recently was doing a snatch of all things and have not been the same since. It injured it 14 weeks ago and have done Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Decompression etc and have some results but not a ton. I have 2 bulging discs which is pretty normal for a lifter but I have an 8mm tear through my L4-L5 and it has healed around 30% I would say in 14 weeks.

I cant really do any legs and it hurts whenever I sit. I really need to get back training and was wondering if something like HGH or IGF may help. I have an MD that perscribes HRT but he said that he isnt that familiar with HGH but when you have a torn disc the fluid leaks out and hits the nerves and that is what causes the pain. He said that HGH or IGF would make the fluid leak worse which isnt good. My IFG blood leves are a 199 if that matters.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

I wouldn’t wish your injury on anyone.

In my experience, a torn disk cannot heal itself. It was also explained to me by my neurosurgeon that the inner disk material is more like crab meat than semi-viscous liquid. When it starts to detach (leak out of the disk), especially at the L4-L5, it will impinge on the sciatic nerve that travels down your leg. The only way to get better is to have it removed. Even to the point of cleaning out all the semi-detached material still inside the disk.

I would highly recommend getting an MRI. And a really good orthopedic surgeon.

I’m only speaking from experience (2 back surgeries at the L4-L5), I am not a doctor.

Good luck, man.

I would avoid surgery unless your problem was degrading the quality of life for a long period of time.