T Nation

Too Old to Start Again?

So, I’ve been living my life in 4 or 5 year increments for awhile now. 4 years of high school, 4 of college, 5 in the army. I’ll be getting out at the end of 2014, and I’m starting to realize that I need to reevaluate my options and get something sorted out, time now.

My major is worthless (English, emphasis on Creative Writing), and so I’m considering going back to school and getting a degree in something useful (engineering of some sort). I will be 28 when I leave the army.

I’m not interested in struggling through with low-paying jobs anymore. I want to live comfortably and raise a family.

Has anyone gone back to rebuild, as I intend to do? I’m worried about it, naturally, as I don’t want to waste any more money on education I can’t easily use, and I feel that I might be too old.

We had 50 year olds in my class in dental school. I am a little concerned that someone in their 20’s thinks they are too old to go back to school.

I don’t think I have even heard of that before. The way I remember it, the older guys on campus got more ass because of it.

I dont know?

Are you dead or planning to die soon?

If not, no.

A friend of mine just went back to school at 27.

[quote]Ambugaton wrote:
So, I’ve been living my life in 4 or 5 year increments for awhile now. 4 years of high school, 4 of college, 5 in the army. I’ll be getting out at the end of 2014, and I’m starting to realize that I need to reevaluate my options and get something sorted out, time now.

My major is worthless (English, emphasis on Creative Writing), and so I’m considering going back to school and getting a degree in something useful (engineering of some sort). I will be 28 when I leave the army.

I’m not interested in struggling through with low-paying jobs anymore. I want to live comfortably and raise a family.