T Nation

Too Often?

G,day to everyone from Australia. I have been lifting for a couple of months now and have managed to get a job in the Gym in the town I live in ( stoked ).

The main point to this is I know that doing more than say one hour of training at one time can sometimes be counter productive to muscle growth but is it too much if I train two or three times a day? I am working at the gym most days and train before and after work but want positive gains not doing damage or making it harder for myself.
Cheers

Its probably too soon for you to be doing this. It can be done with good results but personally I would wait till I had some more experience although you will probably go and do it anyway.

I thought it might be a bit early. its just annoying because i am so amped at the moment to train. I feel like if I am not doing something that i am slacking off. I know rest is super important but just am exited at the good growth and gains i am experiencing.

If you’ve only been lifting a couple of months you’ll probably get gains from any sort of training.

Are you training 2-3 hours with 2-3 one hour sessions per day, or is it just the one hour a day split into three different sessions.

But like hardgnr said, multiple training sessions will be better if you save them for a rainy day when you arent getting newbie gains anymore.

Try something basic at first like Chad Waterbury’s TBT or Rippetoe’s Starting Strength program. These will give you a good foundation to move on to other programs.

forgot to put the links in

[quote]Jackmount wrote:
I thought it might be a bit early. its just annoying because i am so amped at the moment to train. I feel like if I am not doing something that i am slacking off. I know rest is super important but just am exited at the good growth and gains i am experiencing. [/quote]