T Nation

Too Much Strain on Lower Back?

I've been doing 5/3/1 for about 5 months now and while I'm enjoying it and finally getting some strength back after a pretty bad neck injury, I think I'm starting to abuse my lower back too much.

I squat on monday, usually followed by some leg press, leg-curls(/GHR depending on which gym I'm in) and some calve raises. I usually bring my knees right up to my chest in the leg press and lately this has resulted in a small twinge in my lower back but nothing that worried me. While squatting the other day however my lower back felt very weak and was most certainly the limiting factor in my squats that day.

I bench on tuesday/wednesday(depending on work and college) and I need a lot of work for my lower(*EDIT: I meant upper back, not lower) back due to largely ignoring it when I first starting training so my assistance work is BB and DB rows. The DB's in my gym only go up to 30kg though so I've hit a snag there and have to rely more on BB rows. However these are very taxing on my lower back and even legs.

I deadlift on thursdays but most weeks I have given my back a bit of a beating the day before on my bench day and yesterday I really felt it. I had almost no stability in the lifts and barely got my prescribed(3) reps on a weight that I've gotten 10+ on in the past. They were very poor reps as well. My back felt strained all night and even today.

I press on friday but this presents no problems.

Given that I started off with Starting Strength and stayed on the TM for a while after that(which meant squatting three times a week and some weeks deadlifting heavy twice as well), do you guys think I'm simply asking too much of my back? Bear in mind I've been stronger in all my lifts before with and never had any problems, even with crazily high volume on fewer days.

Any help appreciated,

when yo leg press, keep everything positioned a'la squat, ie neutral spine etc, sounds like youre rounding it