T Nation

Too Many Training Programs

Hello all, this is my first time on the forums!

Let me just get to the point, these days there are just SO many training programs for one to choose from, most work but there is always the one which is the best. I am a typical ectomorph, although I consider myself more skinny-fat at the moment (a lot of fat around the belly area), but some people say I am only fat there, everywhere else pretty skinny.

I have looked at workouts like "I, BODYBUILDER" which seemed very good, but I don't think it is really targetted for my body type. I saw articles like "Grow, ectomorph, grow" which seemed too vague and doesn't seem to explain it's reasoning. Even "west side for skinny bastards" witha ll the different parts.

Question is, what should I go for? I wouldn't really consider myself a beginner, I know all the workouts well and how to execute them (have been going to the gym for the past year, but very casually so I don't see much gains" and I had a personal trainer for a period (which I don't think helped me apart from executing my form".

Thanks in advance, hope I get some good workout for the rest of the year, I was hoping to start bulking and then cut for a few months. I like the idea of having a 4-5 day phase/shift, so I do the workouts multiple times per week.

Somtimes there seems to be to much variety, and the grass is always greener on the other side. You need to develope a workout philosiphy. If you've been working out for awhile, you should have a list of what you believe works, find some authors-trainers, that have similar beliefs.

For me - I believe in basic barbell work, high volume, multiple rep ranges, getting stronger to get bigger, seperating strength from conditioning. Than I find programs that fit my philosiphy, you'll make better gains training on somthing you believe in.