T Nation

Too Early for a 5/3/1 Program?

Hi guys / Jim

I’ve been lifting on and off for 10 years but my numbers are pathetically weak. I’m 147lbs and 34 years old so no young buck. My numbers for 5 reps are:

Bench 75kg
OHP 52.5kg
Deadlift 120kg
Squat 75kg (groin injury so I haven’t tried squatting properly for a long time)

Would the 5/3/1 programs be too advanced for these stats? Would something like bill starr’s 5x5 be better? I like the 5/3/1 boring but big because it’s essentially upper / lower which would fit well into my week rather than 3 full body workouts (I have football on Wednesdays which kind of messes with the week).

Humblest apologies if this question has been asked to death already - I couldn’t see it in the forum. Also humblest apologies if this isn’t the right forum for this question.

Thanks

Jim trains high school kids. You’re almost 2 decades older than those kids. No way the program is too advanced for you. Give it a run.

Don’t do BBB. Not to start out with. Try 5x5 FSL with 5s progression for the main work and assistance work. Do that for 2-5 cycles and see how things are going.

Could you please elaborate as to what you mean when applying 5x5 FSL + 5’s progression for assistance work? Would that mean say after back squats doing the same “work” but with another squat variation such as the front squat?

If it matters, I’ve been thinking about running 5x5 FSL and 5’s progression for my main work and for assistance shooting for reps in push/pull/single-leg/core as per 531 Forever. So I’m just trying to understand what you mean here.

I don’t. Read it as “Try 5x5 FSL with 5s progression for the main work and [also do] assistance work”

Ah, alright. Cheers! Makes sense!