T Nation

Too Beautiful For The Gym

Dan John recently wrote a great article about getting a workout by improvising with various equipment around the house. The article was great and I could not agree more with what he said. About five months ago I quit my job at a gym and afterward I was not able to afford a membership to other gyms because I am a struggling artist in NYC. But being dedicated to fitness I had to improvise. So I started a workout program where I was outside 2-4 times a week. Each workout consisted of running, sprints, and bodyweight exercises(pushups, pullups, dips, planks,etc.) Before I started this program I could barely run 3.5 miles with my friend. And I thought I was in pretty good shape. But just a few a hours ago I knocked out 2.5 miles of running with 200 bodysquats, 150 pushups,15 pullups, and 40 dips. An amazing workout. I have to keep all my pants up with a belt now and my shoulders and legs have filled out quite nicely. And for most of this time my diet was not to great and I still lost weight. But the point is I completely agree with Dan. Get your ass outside and play.