Toning or well read and you'll see. :)

I remember Poliquin going of his nut about people saying they want to tone their muscles. Cause all they really need to do is lose fat in most cases. He also mentioned something about it being rather difficult to change the actual tonus of the muscle. So my question is how easy or possible is it to change muscle tone. Going by myself well I don’t think my muscles feel any harder since I started training but they were always freakishly hard to begin with…that and I’m alway trying to gain muscle not lose fat. I’m asking this cause my mom is going to start lifting and she wants to lose her arm…wings. Heheh. She has already lost alot of weight. I told he she needs to lose more body fat to get ride of her “wings”. Then I felt her arm and well it seemed like loose muscle not fat. Well some fat. Ahhhh I don’t know. Thanks. :slight_smile:

I think tone is controlled by your muscle spindles and unless you are dead they will always have ‘tone’. I feel it has quite a bit to do with fat percentage and maybe not just adipose but rather intracellular and extracellular fat, which may make a muscle feel softer if present in large amounts. during times of calorie restriction muscles may feel softer as well due to less glycogen causing cell volumisation. I am sure joel marion and others are going to disagree with me.

I have explained this 10 times in the last week; I will try to bump one of the many threads up for you.

I’ll just paste a previous post that should give you some insight to your question. This is how to go about doing it:

This is probably the biggest myth in all of bodybuilding. If I hear someone else talk about 15-25 reps for cutting I think I’m gonna shoot myself! Ahhhhh! Nah, but let me seriously answer your question:

The ideal rep range for cutting is 6 and under. Why? Well there are a number of reasons, but let me just elaborate on the the reason you stated: “the cut look.”