To Split or Not To Split?

New guy here with my first post.

I have been working out for about 4 months now and am happy with my progress. I do a full body workout, 3 days a week. It looks like this:

Variation 1:
Pull-ups
Overhead Press
Squats
Dumbell Row
Bench Press
Sit-ups to finish.

Variation 2:
Pull Ups
Dips
Deadlifts
Seated Row
Dumbell Fly
Bench Press

I go Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday.

My question is this: Should I consider a Split that allows me to hit the gym 4 days a week? I was thinking I would split into “Push” day and “Pull” day like this:

Push (Monday + Thursday):
Bench Press
Squats
Overhead Press
Sit Ups
Dips

Pull (Tuesday, Friday):
Pull-Ups
Deadlifts
Seated or Bent over Row
Back Extensions
Dumbell Fly

So is this type of split and schedule going to be more effective?

My goals are more geared toward bodybuilding. I want to have large muscles and be fairly well trimmed, fat wise.

46 years old
6ft. tall
185 lbs
Ectomorph frame carrying about 10lbs of fat extra around the gut.

To give you an idea of where I am at strengthwise: For pull-ups, I can do 8 honest wide grips. For bench press, I can do 8 rep sets with 150lbs…So, not too advanced but not bad for a 46 year old who works at a desk the whole week.

I appreciate your input.

The Search function is indeed my friend:

According to how I interpret this roundtable of experts, I should stay with the full body workout.

Still, if anyone has any comments about thier experiences, I welcome them.

As your goals are more physique-related, I prefer the push/pull split. A few comments about the one you laid out though:

• Squatting twice/week and deadlifting twice/week is going to be hell on your lower back. Maybe try replacing squats with front squats on one of the days, and deadlifts with light stiff-leg deadlifts on one of the days. Alternatively, you could change it to an upper/lower split… something like:

Day 1: Upper: Bench press, Row, Overhead press, pullups, extensions, curls