T Nation

To Bulk or Not To Bulk

Having read CT’s article on bulking basically made everything more complex.

I am currently at the end of my cut in which I lost abour 30 lb, yet I havent reached a point where I can see my abs. I’m at about 13-14% bf right now. However I also weigh 165 lb at a towering 5’10".

Seeing how winter is about to hit off I dont know what to do, should I continue cutting? I’ve been cutting for about 5 months now. Should I do a 4 month bulk and go back to cutting again? My goal is to be with abs in 7 months or so.
Looking forward to the advice!

Here are some photos taken today:
http://xs220.xs.to/xs220/07403/side_chest.jpg
http://xs320.xs.to/xs320/07403/back_dbl_biceps.jpg
http://xs320.xs.to/xs320/07403/front_dbl_biceps.jpg
http://xs320.xs.to/xs320/07403/lat_spread.jpg
http://xs220.xs.to/xs220/07403/back_flexed.jpg
http://xs220.xs.to/xs220/07403/thighs.jpg

At this stage in the game your main priority should be muscle mass increase and staying at a bodyfat you are happy with. I know you said you want to see abs in seven months, but what is your real long term(several years down the road) goal? Whatever it is, are 4 month “bulks” and 5 month “cuts” going to get you there fastest? Those aren’t meant to be rhetorical, I’d like your input on what your goals are and whether or not you think you are using the best approach right now.

Here’s my advice:

Cut down to 10% body fat, eat maintenance for a month to recalibrate your body composition so you don’t gain it back rapidly when starting to gain lbm. Then, start to gain lean body mass (shoot for a pound of body weight per week), if you can do 2/3 lean body mass gain a month you’re awesome.

Gain lbm until Feb then take another month to recalibrate your body comp, then diet and sprint the fat off.

That way you build through the winter when food is way more abundant (thanksgiving, christmas, etc.).

I usually try to keep my body fat between 8-15%.