T Nation

To Bulk Or Not To Bulk

That's just one of my questions. Here's some info about me (I'm going to be as specific as I can because I would appreciate any and all constructive criticism regarding my diet and routine):

I'm 31, 183 pounds, 6'1" tall and 12% bf. I started lifting 2 1/2 months ago after running for a couple months and eating under maintenance. I started out at 203 lbs, over 20% bf.

Currently I'm eating 5 times a day under maintenance 2200 cals 4 days a week and 2400 on the three days I lift. Everyday I have 270 g protein (1080 cals), 80 grams fat (720) cals and vary the carbs between 100 and 150 depending on if it's a lifting day or not.

As far as supplements and nutrition I'm taking HOT-ROX and Alpha Male (both at 6 per day), 6-12 fish oil caps depending on my fish consumption that day, Surge on workout days and ZMA at night. I also have some Udo's Ultimate and of course a daily multi-vitamin.

My lifting routine is based on Total Body Training and Lifting For Fat Loss. Right now it looks like this:

All three days:
Warm up with 3 sets 30 reps leg raises super-setted with 3 sets 30 reps hypers and 3 sets 15 reps push-ups. I wait 30 seconds between each set and do the reps as fast as I can to get the blood pumping and warm up my muscles, then I move on to:

Mondays:
5x5 flat bench barbell
4x5 assisted wide grip chins (can't wait to get off that pussified machine for the wide-grips--I just don't like lat pulldowns)
4x5 weighted dips
4x8 squats
4x6 seated dumbbell military press

Wednesdays:
5x5 incline bench barbell
4x5 pull-ups (I call pull-ups palms facing me and chin-ups palms away)
4x7 deadlift
3x7 leg curls
4x5 seated barbell military press

Fridays:
5x5 decline bench barbell
5x5 chin-ups (my chins and pull-ups just use my full body weight for now--not weighted)
4x6 bent-over row
4x5 upright row