T Nation

Tired of Looking Almost the Same

Over the past few months , Iv had a lot of strength gains . That can be attributed to the fact that Im just a beginner and the gains have come very steadily .

However , Im confused as to why Im actually busting my ass three times a week ?? Im not talking about doing endless bicep curls and side laterals . Every time I try to do them , I feel like Im betraying myself and I should rather be doing some closed grip bench presses .and I love it .

I want to look atleast buff as I understand getting a body shredded to muscles takes years . I focus on compound lifts and try my hardest not to cheat even a bit . But still I have to deal with this doughy chest fat and an over-spilling waist line …

I certainly have no intentions of being strong but not looking that part .

my question is : how does one get ripped( or lose that embarrassing chest fat and love handles) while following the strength way ? are there any tips to make some changes ?? or is it that maybe I`m not doing enough ?

Post diet.

[quote]enoscent wrote:
or is it that maybe I`m not doing enough ?

[/quote]

How would anyone know if you don’t say what you are actually doing? You need to be more specific in your enquiry.

Sounds like you’re ignoring body parts. And have a bad diet. And only lift 3 days a week.

[quote]enoscent wrote:
how does one get ripped( or lose that embarrassing chest fat and love handles) while following the strength way ? are there any tips to make some changes ?? or is it that maybe I`m not doing enough ? [/quote]
If you’re “busting your ass three times a week”, then you must not be posting every workout in your training log here. I just took a look at your log and this is all you have down for the last month or so (if I’m reading it right):

Mon 4/30
Squat 4x5-8, 1x1
Face pull ?x?
Biceps curl ?x?
Straight leg deadlift 3x5

Sat 4/14
Squat 1x10, 7x2-5
Overhead press 3x4
Biceps curl ?x?

Sat 4/7
Squat 2x10, 5x2-5
Biceps curl ?x?

Fri 4/6