Tired of Being Injured

Ok here is the situation, I just turned 35 this February and I have had back spasms (according to military doctors) on and off for about 12 years (bad flexibility, being young and bullet proof). In 2001 I was doing what I call fast squats, where you go down slow and up fast and let the weight (365lbs) come off my shoulders and back down very hard.

Well this caused a disc protrusion at L4-L5 which was pushing on the nerve and wasn’t properly diagnosed until 2007, that’s when I had surgery to remove the protrusion.

To get to the point I’m tired of being sick and tired! I have been athletic all of my life (basketball, football, wrestling, softball, soccer, whatever) and now I’ve been laying on my ass for 2 years and I don’t like the results. So, I am going to try to fix my back and the rest of me with weights and yoga. That’s right yoga, one of my main problems is lack of flexibility, so I’m going to start there.

What I am looking for in this forum is advice, I want to start lifting again, but I know I can’t go at it like I did when I was 25. Do you guys have any suggestions on what exercises to start off with? Also do you have any suggestions on supplements, and or protein powders, for say rebuilding vertebral discs?

There’s a lot of back injury threads on T-Nation that you might want to check out. I’ve found some pretty good info in a few of them. Not all of it is directly relevant but it at least gives you an idea of what questions to ask.

For my L4-l5 protrusion - which put me out for about two years - I had to:

1. Pay attention to the things that aggravated my back - like sitting in a chair at a desk and deadlifts. And then fix or stop doing them.

2. Figure out what back flexion, extension, and neutral spine meant.

3. Regain range of motion before doing a weighted exercise.