Tips for Trainers?

hey Christian I have been a personal trainer for a year now and i am wanting to take my business to the next level , so my question to you is what are the three biggest mistakes you made early on with clients and the three biggest mistakes you see new trainers makeing

[quote]Holmana wrote:
hey Christian I have been a personal trainer for a year now and i am wanting to take my business to the next level , so my question to you is what are the three biggest mistakes you made early on with clients and the three biggest mistakes you see new trainers makeing[/quote]

What I consider to be my 3 biggest mistakes.

1. Being too eager to have people lift big weights. I’m a strength guy. To me getting stronger should be the foundation of every program. But in the past I’ve had people go up in weight too fast, using weights that they could get but for which their body was not prepared which often led to bad form and sometimes injuries.

2. Bypassing my own beliefs and training philosophies to get more clients (giving them what they wanted instead of what they needed or what I believed in). At first I would use a ton of intensity techniques and plenty of isolation work to get people a great pump and be sore just so that they would feel good about the program. Things that I never did in my own training and that I don’t really believe in, I did just to get more clients. Now I force myself to be true to my beliefs and not try to be somebody else. I’m good at what I know and do so that’s what I focus on.