T Nation

Tips for New Routine

Well I'm new to T-Nation so first, hello everybody :slightly_smiling: I'm a 19 y/o gym lover. I have been training on and off (more off than on) for 2 years, but in the last 4 months I've been very serious about my training and I could stick to the gym to follow my routine everyday, even if I was ill.

The problem is, I can't really feel any mass gains in any of the routines I've tried so far.
I started 2 years ago with the basic split of Chest/Bis, Back/Tris, Shoulder/Legs with basic exercises and machines (no squats or deadlifts tho). When I rejoined the gym here, I made two different workouts of my own, with some info taken from TN and other forums:

October-November: Full Body workout, one exercise per muscle group. 3 sets of 10,8 and 6 reps. I did one different exercise each day, trained on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

But about a month and a half, I started to feel I needed more intensity, I found myself doing two instead of one biceps exercise and that kind of stuff. So I created a little more complex routine:

November-December-January: It was based on three basic workouts: Chest/Triceps, Back/Biceps, Shoulders/Legs. And then some I called "reinforcement" workouts, doing targeting antagonic muscles: Biceps/Triceps, Chest/Back, Legs/Shoulders (not really antagonic, I know). I trained on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, then, depending of what muscles I trained on Monday and Tuesday, I did a different reinforcement routine on Friday. I did 4 exercises per big muscle group and 3 for the smaller ones, in the reinforcement, I did 4 for each.

Some interesting and unexpected results came up. With the full body workout, I managed to become a lot stronger (getting to almost double my noob bench press weigh from 110 lbs to 200). But I noticed little mass gains.