Tips for Biceps Tendonitis?

Just last year I started growing this tendonitis feeling in my bicep when I’d do bicep curls, which I had been doing heavy for many years now. I got to a point where it would hurt to do bicep curls in a bad way and so I eliminated them. Like when I was in my twenties the pain didn’t just automagically disappear. Instead, I felt it while doing pull up/downs or any heavy back exercise. I basically have been waiting for it to heal for over a year now with no success. Bought a massage gun to massage the wrist to the shoulder, which is the entire area of general pain, with no success yet.

Would like to hear tips from anyone experiencing this issue.

Sounds like you totally overdid it on the curls. Usually you hear about people getting bicep tendinitis from too much low bar squatting, curls can actually help with that but in your case you probably have to take it easy on curls and any pulling movements for a while.

1 Like

I used to suffer from this a lot. I finally broke down and ordered some magic elixir (BP-157) and then it went away and hasn’t came back in almost a year. Through the bottle away to show my biceps I trust them. So far so good.

Try using high, high reps against bands to pump up the area and heal your tendons.

Anchor the bands low and do sets of 40-50+ with a “regular” grip.

Stand on the band, grab it with a neutral grip and do hammer curls.

Use a tiny little band, stand on it with one foot and do “Band Upper Cuts” as you externally rotate your arm to work shoulder extension using the bicep.

Start with a slow, controlled speed and a limited range of motion, kind of doing what doesn’t hurt. You can progress ROM, speed of the motion and reps as you see results.