T Nation

Tips for a New Gym User

Hey im new to T-Nation and im only 14 but im very serious about strength training and bodybuilding. I have enjoyed many articles and forum posts on this site. Im going to join a gym soon and stop working out with the few dumbbells i have in my house. But i don't want to look like a complete jackass and I'm also not so sure on how to use power racks, squat racks etc..

SO, what are some tips u can give me to not look like a jackass and to really work my ass off in the gym.
Whats good gym etiqutte and what should i definitely avoid doing? Thanks!

always re rack your weights
do not text in between sets
do not wear affliction t-shirts
basically dont be a d-bag

[quote]parsley wrote:

what are some tips u can give me to not look like a jackass and to really work my ass off in the gym.
[/quote]

read starting strength

Good gym Etiquette. Don’t be one of those assholes who bring a mobile phone into the gym with them. Few things I hate more when I’m in the gym breaking my ass and a phone goes off.

If your not sure how to use some of the equipment, either watch how some of the bigger guys use them or else ask some of those guys. Most guys serious about trianing will have no problems helping you out, I for one enjoy showing newbies the ropes, asking people who know in the gym is without doubt the best way to learn

1. Squat racks are not for curls.
  2. For starters, do not get under any weight you are certain you can handle. If in doubt, but you wanna try it anyway, ask for a spot.
  3. What Bro said is true. The good guys are usually willing to help a newb out (just be sure to take their advice and not question everything they say).
  4. You can find several threads here on T-Nation and other forums (like bb.com) where folks talk about the most annoying gym behavior. Read them and then don’t do those things :slight_smile: