T Nation

Tips and Recipes for Gaining Mass

I just started lifting a few months ago, so I'm a total novice. But my biggest challenge is not even lifting technique--it's just getting enough calories during my long (often ten-hour) days at work. It seems like I have to bring a giant duffel bag of food, and preparing all of this food is very time-consuming.

How do people cope with this? Can anyone recommend dishes that are fast to prepare, nutritious, and that will last for several servings? (I don't mind eating leftovers if it will save time.) I am thinking that things like stews or casseroles might work best, since those will last a couple of days.

Duffel bag of food? How many calories are you eating?

1 cup of mixed nuts is about 750 worth of protein and fat. A chicken breast, a cup of mashed potatoes, and some green beans is about 600. Make some ranch dressing using some buttermilk, sour cream, and a ranch seasoning packet for your chicken and poes (to avoid the soybean oil and sugar and other garbage in store bought dressing) to add a few more calories. Two meals and a snack will give you over 2000 kcal, plus whatever else you eat and your workout nutrition.

Stews and casseroles work well, if you have a way to reheat them. I normally make a big, big portion of something every week in my slow cooker and box it up so I just have to pick it up in the mornings. I also have a big bowl of oats with frozen berries for breakfast most days which can easily be prepared and boxed in advance, and sometimes, for variety or if I’m running low on stew/chilli/whatever I’ll just take a microwave bag of veg, a couple of cooked chicken breasts and a microwave bag of some kind of grain (rice, quinoa, couscous, spelt etc.)

If you can’t reheat, nuts and shakes work pretty well, mix your shakes with milk for extra calories.

For the record, 10 hours is not a long day, you shouldn’t need more than one or two meals, plus snacks in that time.