T Nation

Timing of Meals/Supps for My Training

Long time browser, first time poster (I think, can't remember posting before)

First the backstory:

I've been working out on an off for the last 5-6 years after dabbling with a few weights for the first time 10-12 years ago. I've recently started "taking it seriously" and over the last year have made significant gains while staying at the "athletic" end of a decent physique.

Now I'm looking at packing on some more muscle as a long term goal. Being an avid reader of Flex and other such magazines, I feel I have a good workout plan for the week and I've increased my weight on all exercises by a good amount. I've found a plan that works for me and I've switched it up often to keep my body guessing and improving.

My main improvement is diet, eating clean and often. I know I need to eat more and this is being addressed. My question for those of you with some experience is regarding the timing of meals and supplements around my workout. Currently my daily plan is something along these lines:

Wake at 6am: 1 scoop of whey with water, 2 BCAA tablets. 5g Arginine.

Get to work at 7am: 1 scoop of whey, 60g ground oats, 8g Glutamine, 500ml milk

9am: 1 full egg, 2 eggs whites, 2 wholemeal bread slices

11am: 125g brown basmati rice, tin of tuna. Vit C, E and Omega 3 tablets.

Snack: Pure Protein Bar (50g)

1:30pm: 125g brown basmati rice, tin of tuna

3:30pm: 5g Arginine, 3 BCAA tablets, Apple

3:45pm: Water with 1 scoop whey, 8g Glutamine, 2 small scoops Creatine, 1 small scoop Beta Alanine, 1 scoop Vitargo.

4:15pm: Train

5:15pm: 5g Arginine, 3 BCAA tablets

5:30pm: Water with 1 scoop whey, 1 scoop casein, 8g Glutamine, 2 small scoops Creatine, 1 small scoop Beta Alanine, 2 scoop Vitargo

7pm: Chicken breat, veg and sweet potato

9pm: 1 scoop casein, 5g Glutamine

10pm: Bed

So, can anyone see anything I should be doing differently? Anything to add / change around?