Time Restraint 5x531

So I have found that at no point do I have an hour to train. I build houses for a living and am out the door at 530am and home at 7pm I sit and eat dinner with my wife and kids then go train. I set aside 25 minutes Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday to complete 5x531 every 3 minutes on the minute for 5 rounds. I use the close grip bench, power clean, push press, and squat super settled with dB row, chins and abs as per the day because I want to see what kind of Pendlay total I can achieve. Saturday is either good for me to train for 2 hours or not at all depending on life so I leave it as an accessory day to hit it if I can.

So my idea is to carry this over the winter into next year and I wanted to start with the high volume and slowly peaking. I have already started 5x531 at 70 percent training max for 5x10 rather then standard 5x5. the idea is to drop volume as I plateau at the specified rep range. now to many this might mean 5x10 to 5x8 to 5x5 and so on but with the limit on rest periods I was thinking more of
8,6,4,3,2 and so on as inter set muscular fatigue may contribute to the plateau as much as diminishing strength gains in the specified range.

What are your thoughts or is this completely out to lunch. Thank you.

It’s not 5/3/1 and it’s your experiment. Only you know what’s best for you; try it and see how it goes, if it doesn’t work try something else. I would not do what you have written.

In the new 531 Forever book there is a program meant for 2 days a week with very limited time. I would look into that.

If volume is the goal you can still get more than that doing 5/3/1. I’m doing 5’s Pro FSL at the moment and if I was limited on time with your schedule I would probably do this, example bench press day.

Bench Press (40 reps not counting warmups)
5s Pro
5x5 FSL weight (could even do SSL or BBB or whatever)

Superset all that with Rows, either sets of 5 or sets of 10 (50-100 reps total)