T Nation

Time Off Or Not?

I've been training on and off for many many years, sometimes with very long breaks due to injury, illness, or work/family schedules. I never really reached the goals from my youth, so last year I made a vow to hit it hard one last time to see how far I can go.

So I began training hard since November without a break (other than a day or 2). Gained about 8 lbs, increased 5/8" on calves, 3/8" on biceps (I haven't measured anything else), and a nice fullness all over that I've never quite achieved before. But recently noticed my progression stalling in the gym, and just 2 days ago started feeling really burnt out. Sleep isn't good lately, nor is the old appetite. Along with that, my knees are chronically sore (quadricep tendon), and I've developed bursitis in my right shoulder.

I feel that I may need a week off, but I can't get my brain around this. At my age, training is as much an emotional stabilizer as it is a body builder. I guess I fear losing the momentum I've been riding, as well as the fear of losing any gains I've worked hard to attain. If I do take a week off, would it be detrimental to just train 2 small muscle groups like calves and delts during the layoff? What do you guys do after a long cycle?

I train HST style in 10 week cycles and then take a week off. I always make my best gains during the week off, so I'm all for the idea of you taking a week off completely.

You're not going to atrophy in a week, so that fear is unfounded and you might even find you grow in that week off.

I'd recommend you take a week off completely and do it up right, but you do what you feel you need to do. Just be clear that you're doing it for emotional reasons and not training reasons.