Time it Takes to Complete Density Layer

Hello CT,

I’ve been progressing in my Density layers–started out getting a total of 9 reps and now I’m approaching 20 total reps across 3 sets (each one between 3-7 reps). I’m getting used to handling this kind of weight. As such, I find that the more reps I strive for, the closer to 30 mins the entire layer takes me. This is way too long, isn’t it? I’m sure you wouldn’t even consider it “density” at this time.

What should I do? I’ve tried taking less rest, but this layer really kicks my behind. Should I consider limiting myself to 10 minutes, or is there another way?

I’m still new to this system, so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

I’m not ct but I remember reading another thread somewhere where ct states that the most reps you should be doing per set is between 2-3 so that if you do a set every minute for 10 minutes you’ll end up between 20-30 reps total. Doing reps up to 7 will gas you and you won’t be able to recover as quickly to complete the rest of the reps.

And you’re still referring to singles, correct? Or have I misunderstood something? Each set takes me a while because I’m doing:

1 rep

10-25 seconds rest

1 rep

10-25 seconds rest

and so on. This goes on for several reps, at most 7, which encompasses one set.

Have I missed something?

I think what you’re doing is the clusters … the density layer I’m referring to 2-3reps on the minute every minute for 10 minutes with 80-85%… this is after the ramp … I think ct had said doing the clusters and density work was too much for long term … he eventually preferred the ramp and then just the density work I described… I could be wrong but that was my understanding … I would search the threads to be sure but I think that was written

[quote]MikeMezz wrote:
And you’re still referring to singles, correct? Or have I misunderstood something? Each set takes me a while because I’m doing:

1 rep

10-25 seconds rest

1 rep

10-25 seconds rest