Time For a Change

Alright, I have a slight issue.

Since I’ve started training seriously, I’ve followed a 3-day-a-week program with a fair amount of success. This is the template I currently use:

1. Explosive Lift 6 x 3
  2. Lower Body Compound 5 x 5
    3A) Upper Body Push 5 x 5
    3B) Upper Body Pull 5 x 5
  3. Core 5 x 5
  4. Bodyweight GPP Circuit

Well, I’ve been doing this type of training for 6 months now and… I’m bored. So I’ve decided that I’m gonna’ give a 4-day-a-week upper/lower split a try.

Here’s where my problem comes in. All I really know is full body training and I don’t really know how I should set-up an upper/lower split. But I gave it a try anyway. So, I read a lot of articles and posts and here’s what I came up with:

Monday: Lower Body 1

1. 1-Arm Snatch 6 x 3
  2. Deadlift 5 x 5
  3. Full Contact Twist 5 x 5
  4. Lower Bodyweight GPP

Tuesday: Upper Body 1

1. Bench 5 x 5
  2. Row 5 x 5
  3. Barbell Roll-Out 5 x 5
  4. Upper Bodyweight GPP

Thursday: Lower Body 2

1. Clean Pull 6 x 3
  2. Squat 5 x 5
  3. Russian Twist 5 x 5
  4. Lower Bodyweight GPP

Friday: Upper Body 2

1. Push Press 5 x 5
  2. Pull-up 5 x 5
  3. Windmill 5 x 5
  4. Upper Bodyweight GPP

I love the pure simplicity of Squat/ Bench/ Row 5 x 5 style training and this split seems like it would simplify my training even further.

So what do you guys think? Is this a sound, well-balanced program? ? Since there’s less volume per workout, should I maybe consider a different set/rep scheme?

If you have any advice or wisdom to share, please do. As a T-Community, we are made up of some of the most intelligent, experienced lifters on the planet, so I expect you guys have some good stuff to say.

Oh, I almost forgot. Here are my goals:

1. Improve strength, power, and agility.

2. Gain 22LBS of LBM.

3. Improve lifting technique.

Any advice?