T Nation

Time Crunch-Abs, Biceps, Calves

Alright. My program sticks to basic compounds and have woefully neglected my Abs. So I decided to extended my workouts by 5 minutes or a max of 9 minutes.

The Challenge:
Hit my Abs, Calves, and Biceps hard enough one time in a week under 9 minutes ideally closer to 5 minutes. To clarify, each day I would either do Biceps, Calves or Abs and dedicate 5-9 minutes to it.

The Goal:
Strength, Muscle Density
Less so sarcoplasmic increases, more myo.

Proposed:
One Lift
Sets 10, Reps 3
10 Second Rest
Load heavy as possible as long as I can continue to do three reps.

Lifts:
Abs - Serratus Crunch
Biceps - Barbell Curl, Supinated
Calves - Standing Calf Raises, Smith

Your thoughts.

Another rep scheme I am pondering is the 5-4-3-2-1, but maybe up it to a start of 7 for more volume.

Alright, no one gives a shit, I get it. Laterz. Heh.

I like it! But being a noob, I thought doing compound exercises would give you respectable calves?

Squats/Deads hit the abs pretty hard.

One legged calf raises work the gastrocnemius and soleus muscles at the same time and close to the same intensity. (So I’ve read and felt.)

Well I have never really felt my calves after Deads or Squats, but they might of been suppressed in the haze of pain in my other muscles. But I want “enviable” calves heh.
I am in this game for the long term though so I don’t need to base my workouts around it.

Compound exercises (except for ones where you hold the weight in front of you) rely (from what I have read) primarily on your spinal erectors to stabilize and less so your abdominals.

Never once felt my abs after these. But Front Squats I have. :slight_smile:

So just use a seated calf raise machine, but just one legged?

Thanks for all your input guys!

[quote]yasser wrote:

I thought doing compound exercises would give you respectable calves?