Tightness Right Above Right Hip

So, since I started lifting again back in March, I’ve had a feeling of muscle tightness, or something, on an area right above my right hip, and right next to my spine. It’s basically right above the area where your right side of the hip and your spine meets.

The tightness becomes really obvious when I do hip flexor stretches with my right leg in front of me, and is virtually nonexistent when I do hip flexor stretches with my left leg in front. I also feel it to a lesser degree whenever I lean down and then up with my lower back straight, in the way you would do a RDL.

I’ve tried all the usual recommendations for tight muscles (foam rolling, stretches), but it never got any better. So I’m wondering if anyone who is more versed in anatomy than me knows what might be the issue. Is it something I should worry about?

[quote]magick wrote:
So, since I started lifting again back in March, I’ve had a feeling of muscle tightness, or something, on an area right above my right hip, and right next to my spine. It’s basically right above the area where your right side of the hip and your spine meets.

The tightness becomes really obvious when I do hip flexor stretches with my right leg in front of me, and is virtually nonexistent when I do hip flexor stretches with my left leg in front. I also feel it to a lesser degree whenever I lean down and then up with my lower back straight, in the way you would do a RDL.

I’ve tried all the usual recommendations for tight muscles (foam rolling, stretches), but it never got any better. So I’m wondering if anyone who is more versed in anatomy than me knows what might be the issue. Is it something I should worry about?[/quote]

You said you “…started lifting again back in March…”

1. How long was the lay off?

2. Why was there a lay off?

3. What did you do (if anything) for exercise during the lay off?

4. What exercises/rep scheme/frequency/ did you return to in March?