T Nation

Tightening the Mid-Section

Hey, all. I have a persistent, annoying problem: a stomach that seems to protrude regardless of my BF%. It’s probably because I was taught that to breathe properly I had to use my stomach, which has become a habit. I’m around 190 lbs right now, maybe 15% BF, so I’m trying to recomp a little, but I can still see some definition in the stomach area, so what gives? Are there any exercises I can do to generally tighten up that area? Or maybe I should focus on building up my chest and shoulders to take the attention off my naturally thick abdominal area?

I’m not a newbie; I hope the word “tighten,” which is usually used by retards, doesn’t put anyone off giving useful advice.

If a person trains heavy on deadlifts or squats, his abdominals are going to hypertrophy. And if you eat frequently, your belly is going to be full of food. I wouldn’t be too worried about it; at 15% bodyfat you aren’t fat.

[quote]G87 wrote:
Or maybe I should focus on building up my chest and shoulders to take the attention off my naturally thick abdominal area?[quote]

I would agree with you here, bring your chest/shoulders/upper back/traps up maybe? Either way, we are a product of the work we put into our bodies. If you’re working hard and eating right, be happy with the way you’re body is reacting. Look at Chuck Liddell… dude’s a beast, and I don’t think anyone is calling him out on a little protruding abdominal stack. ; )

Exercises like ab rollouts can help that a bit by strengthening the transversus abdominis.

you also could be carrying a lot more visceral fat than you think!

[quote]JoPi wrote:
Look at Chuck Liddell… dude’s a beast, and I don’t think anyone is calling him out on a little protruding abdominal stack. ; )
[/quote]

I used to lurk on Sherdog in my free time. You’d be surprised :smiley:

more cardio+less carbs = smaller waist

I have a similar problem with my stomach protruding.
My body fat is also in the 15% range.