Tight Hips while Squatting

This is my first post here, and I am sorry if this topic has been discussed before. I’ve noticed that lately my hips and hamstrings have been tight while I’m squatting. A little bit of background on me: I’m 24 years old and I previously lifted and worked out a lot when I was in high school, up to about 6 months after I got out of the U.S. Marine Corps at 22. I started feeling the delayed effects of a back injury I had when I was in the marines and it took me a while to be able to workout as hard as I used to. I’ve been squatting and deadlifting again for the last 6 months and now I’m starting to have the pain back again. Is there anything I can do to fix this problem or prevent it from getting worse?

Smart thing would be to see a professional to make sure your spine is relatively healthy and go from there. If there is no issues found and it’s sound then address other issues. Be it a form or mobility issue or excessive work load.

2 Likes

post videos of a deadlift and a squat at somewhere from 70-90% of your 1 rep max.

2 Likes

I got an x ray done a while back and I have one disc that was fractured but healed and they said I have degenerative disc disease. Do you think its worth it to have another xray done?

Oddly enough, aside from the tight hips when squatting, this is the best my back has felt since I injured it

how long ago is ‘awhile back?’ Do you mean several years ago? Or 4 months ago? Somewhere in between?

Also, why are you squatting and deadlifting in the first place? Is it because you just love to squat and deadlift? Do you compete in any strength sports? are you just trying to look good? answering these questions is important, because if these movements are likely to give you chronic issues, there may be a way to work around them, depending on your goals.

2 Likes

Sorry to hear about it bud… Ill be honest it would be irresponsible for me to give you in-depth advice since your issue is above my pay grade.