Tibialis Anterior To Knee Pain

My info:
I’ve been bulking this summer and gained 18 pounds so far. My routine doesnt include any cardio. Im 20 years old and have never experienced knee pain before.

My problem:
I started playing tennis with my dad twice a week. When i run, my tibialis anterior feels heavy and give my strange muscular pain. It feels like mucle pounding on my bones.

My solution:
I started using the tibialis machine everytime i train calf. I use the same intensity and reps as my calf routine.

Results:
After 1.5 weeks with the new exercise
the pain from my tibialis is gone but
i now experience knee pain. I would describe my knees as shaky. They dont hurt went i walk but when i jump or run there is some pain and they feel weak.

Advices?
tanks

I would chalk it up to gaining almost 20 pounds in a fairly short period of time. That can definitely be a stressor to the joints of the lower body, especially if it’s combined with an activity like tennis.

From what you said, it sounds like you’ve got everything in place to rule out muscle imbalances, though, the fact that the pain “moved” up to your knee once you strengthened your tibs may mean there is. Be sure to include some direct hamstring work as well, so your entire knee, front and back, is strengthened.

Another possibility could be shin splints, from all the running, but I don’t believe that would bother the knee.

That’s about the best I can come up with. Why not have a professional take a look at it? They would be better able to review things.

Do you stretch your calves really good after all that calf work? - Do you strengthen the Tibias muscle - the one on the front?

If not - do it and see if this helps.

GL

If most of the 20 Lbs you have put on is in your upper body, your legs are for sure going to take a beating.