Thyroid Test Results... Hypo or Not?

Hello,

I’m on HRT (T-cyp/HCG/A-dex) and my numbers are nearly perfect… TT/FT near top of range, E2 low 20s, but there’s still something that isn’t quite right. Specifically mood/energy/libido, which are better than they used to be, but still less than optimal.

I’ve heard that TSH above 2.0, paired with symptoms, can be indicative of hypothyroidism, so I had a thyroid panel run.
The results:

TSH: 3.408 (ref 0.450-4.500)
T4: 6.3 (4.5 - 12.0)
T3 free: 3.6 (2.3-4.2)
T4 free: 1.21 (0.61-1.76)

Might a low dose of armour thyroid help with the symptoms I mentioned? NB- I tried cabergoline for about 6 weeks, doses from 0.5-1.0mg per week but it did nothing but give me headaches at the higher dose.

Thanks for your help!

Bump…

anyone???

I am not a doctor, and this is not a diagnosis.

Your TSH is rather high, indicating that your brain thinks your thyroid needs more than normal prompting to function. But, your other thyroid related numbers seem to be ok.

You should ask a doctor.

ask a doctor. I do 300mg of synthroid per day. This is one of those things where you should probably get a perscription and take real medicine.

Also, it takes 3-4 weeks of taking thyroid medication before you’ll feel a difference. Plus it will take a couple months for your doc to dial in the right dosage.
Train Harder
Old Lardass

Thanks for your replies. I only take real medicine… research chems too risky imo. I have a doctor, but he’s of the ‘if it’s in the range listed on the paper then i don’t think it’s a problem’ variety. He tested TSH only with my usual HRT blood tests, and it originally came in at 3.2 and he said that was fine… so i had the other tests done myself just to check T4,T3 etc. I basically just use him as a pen-wielding, prescription-monkey, because he’s fairly clueless.