Thurs - Wilford Brimley Any ?'s

I’m here for a couple hours. Any questions?

Hey Dr. Ryan,

What particular area is your expertise in? I see the Dr. tag in front of the name, what are your specialties?

poper,

I will repost this from last week:

Credentialize myself huh. That’s always fun.

Well I’m not really a doctor, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night…

Seriously, I have a BS degree in Exercise Science from The Ohio State University and did an internship in the Exercise Physiology/Fitness program at NASA’s LBJ Space Center in Houston.

I graduated Summa Cum Laude and received my Doctor of Chiropractic degree from Texas Chiropractic College in 2000. I did an orthopedic surgery rotation through the Baylor Sports Medicine Institute with Dr. Bill Bryan, one of the Houston Astros physicians.

I’ve taken 1 year of diplomate level Clinical Nutrition coursework.

I’ve served as an on-site doctor as well as sports nutrition/medicine advisor for the USA Fit marathon training programs (I know marathons, ugh)

I am currently practicing in Kingwood, TX a suburb of Houston.

That is my background, please feel free to ask me any questions, particularly regarding injuries, rehab, clinical nutrition.

I have been training for about 14 years now. I am 5’ 10" weigh 195 at about 8-9% bodyfat.

Alright, cool

I recently sprained my right wrist pretty badly. It’s in a cast. Any recommendations to keep strength in my right arm while in the cast?

-poper

Dr. R

I’ve seen Chiropractics (Chiropracticology?) get a bad rap in the media. Have you ever seen any such reports. I wish I could remember more but something about they hold that all illness are caused by a bad alignment of the spine. And that some of the twisting and adjustment can actually be bad for the joints. I was wondering what you thought of this.

Mr. Brimley -