Thumb Blisters

Hey, I’m new to Oly Lifting, about 2.5 months in. I joined a club and have a coach so lifting isn’t really my problem (well it is because my technqiue is still nowhere near where it’s suppose to be). My problem is I keep getting thumb blisters! I have a reoccuring blister between where the thumb meets the hand and the IP joint (the only joint in the thumb).

Any tips and tricks from those with more experience on how to deal with these/get rid of them?

Sand your hand down, yes literally get some sand paper and sand the callouses down. Your skin isn’t use to the friction so it’ll blister like this. It gets better with time. You could use tape as a decent amount of people use that.

Koing

Yeah I second Koing, I had a HUGE problem with this. It was to the point where I couldn’t lift without tape because my hands would start bleeding again. Sandpaper is good, and also try using a pumice stone and scrub away your callouses in the shower.

Emory board for sanding the calluses and that spot on the thumb and some Shea Butter. After a lifting day wash your hands in the evening in some warm water, wait a bit then sand them and put some Shea Butter on the calluses before you go to bed.

I know the spot your talking about and I just tape that area every time I do any type of snatch related work and Koing said it gets better with time.

Take care of your hands because that’s the last thing you want to worry about when lifting.

wash
trim
pumice
lotion

after every single practice. it will improve with time

remember to apply moisturizing solution to your hands after training.

I x2 the above along with a little extra: