T Nation

Throwing Up in Hot Weather/Workout

I’m a 15 y.o. wrestler/football player/weightlifter. Sometimes I throw up in hot weather and especially in the gym. I’m in good shape and I push myself. I was wondering what your guys experiences on throwing up are and what you did to prevent it. Would a low carb diet make one more likely to throw up? I workout anywhere from 1 and a 1/2 to 6 hours a day.

Thanks.

[quote]nms33 wrote:
I’m a 15 y.o. wrestler/football player/weightlifter. Sometimes I throw up in hot weather and especially in the gym. I’m in good shape and I push myself. I was wondering what your guys experiences on throwing up are and what you did to prevent it. Would a low carb diet make one more likely to throw up? I workout anywhere from 1 and a 1/2 to 6 hours a day.

Thanks.[/quote]

I am a newb here, so take my advice with a grain of salt, but I think you are training entirely too much for a 15 year old. In fact, my guess would be you are over training and maybe inhibiting potential gains by training that much. I would recommend an hour and a half max on workouts. What does everyone else think?

make sure you are well hydrated, I had the same problem when I played football in high school. Though, I didn’t workout 6 hrs a day either

I can’t tell my coach I can only workout 1 and a half hours a day. 6 hours is wrestling and double sessions of football, which I have done a few times so far. I normally don’t workout that long. My goals aren’t to get huge though. Most important thing for me now is wrestling technique.

[quote]nms33 wrote:
I can’t tell my coach I can only workout 1 and a half hours a day. 6 hours is wrestling and double sessions of football, which I have done a few times so far. I normally don’t workout that long. My goals aren’t to get huge though. Most important thing for me now is wrestling technique.[/quote]

My mistake, I thought you meant you were lifting weights for 6 hours. You got to do what you got to do for the sports of course.