T Nation

Three Months "Hardcore" Workout Advice

Hello!

—Background/Introduction—
This is my first post and I will try to be as concise and clear as possible. In 2014 I reached the weight of 100 kg, a threshold I never wanted to cross, for my health. I started practicing “bodybuilding” as a game, and I managed to lose weight. In 2016 I weighed 80 kg. With the results my interest in bodybuilding progressed. Because I suffer from severe anxiety and depression, which prevents me from going to a gym, I bought the equipment and weights that I considered necessary.

I tested many training programs and I have no preference in this regard, but something worked great for my muscles: slow reps. Due to personality problems, in order to stay motivated I usually choose a model, a standard, after which to be inspired. Having a height of 173 cm, I was looking for bodybuilders of the same height. Here I come to my model, the bodybuilder, I have in mind every time I train: Mike Mentzer (quite far, right?). I also learned from him about those slow cadences (4-6 sec. per positive / negative) that work excellently for me, I never got injured, I never overworked.

After 3 years of training I have come, by my standards, quite far. A weight of 78 kg, I “finished” the weights I had initially bought, which I supplemented with heavier ones. I tried different rest times between sets, from 40 seconds to 3 minutes. I feel that the most effective is to wait around 2 and a half minutes, 3 minutes. After these 3-4 years of work I realized that my “dream” is far from achieved, an illusion. My depression worsened and my motivation failed to complete any training I was starting.

In the middle of 2019 I gave up the training, I maintained my weight, but, with the restrictions of the covid epidemic and sedentary lifestyle, I am heading again towards the 100 kg threshold.

—Middle of the story/Useful information—