T Nation

Thoughts on Training Obliques?

Quoting Arnold "I'd like to talk about oblique training. While some will argue against this, I believe that obliques should never be trained with additional weight. My reasoning? Adding weight increases the size of the oblique muscles, which leads to a thicker midsection. That's the last thing for which a bodybuilder should strive. Train your obliques using only your bodyweight."

I have done the weight training and have developed some beastly obliques, I can't seem to find middle ground. What is everyones take on oblique training, I'd rather honestly have a leaner looking midsection and I on the other hand have developed some obliques through training that stand out and take away from lats and shoulders if that makes sense.

Personally, I am still new to weight lifting. I see some people doing focus work on obliques and that is not appealing to me. I think having large lats and abdominals would create a very nice V-shape. I’m not saying to just ignore the obliques, but I’m going to let them develope on their own through doing my compound exercises.

Functionality wise my obliques will likely develope when I begin Muay Thai training and in that respect it will be good to have big ones to protect the side from kicks and to provide that rotational power that they are good at.

I don’t see what great benefit there would be to develope beastly obliques. Unless they are going to be used, like in Muay Thai or other martial arts, because they provide good rotational stability and power.

I think you are right that they would take away from the V shape slightly, however that can be remedied by increasing the size of lats and abdominals, right?

[quote]az4justice wrote:
I don’t see what great benefit there would be to develope beastly obliques. Unless they are going to be used, like in Muay Thai or other martial arts, because they provide good rotational stability and power.