T Nation

Thoughts on This Program?

I’ve been training seriously for a few months now and have seen some progress on lifts but not a lot of muscle gain. I didn’t start eating well until this year so I should be seeing some improvement in that area in the next months/year.
But enough of that. I thought I’d throw my program up here for you to criticize or evaluate.

I’m 17 years old, 187cm and weigh somewhere around 75kg.

So here goes:

Monday - Chest
Incline dumbbell press- 4 sets of reps 10
Dumbbell flies- 4/10
Assisted dips- 3/8

Tuesday - rest

Wednesday - Legs
Squat/front squat- 3/10
Leg press(high pad, glutes)- 4/10
Glute-ham raises- 3 sets of however many I can do

Thursday- rest

Friday- Shoulders
Push press- 4/10
Seated barbell press- 3/10
Lateral raises- 3/10
Shrugs(if the weight room isn’t crowded)- 2/10

Saturday- Back
Deadlift- 1/10
Bent over barbell rows- 3/10
Assisted pull-ups- 4/10
Bent over barbell rows- 3/10
One arm dumbbell row- 3/10

Sunday- rest

As you can see it is a pretty boring 3x10 program. I still have the lifting capacity of a twelve year old girl, but my squat has improved a lot over the last few months. I was sick for like a week in December and couldn’t eat shit and lost 5kg(!).

tl;dr: Is this program any good for a beginner or should I switch over to a 5x5 program or something like that? Not wanting to spend 3-4 months doing something like this if it is crap.

Comments are welcome, people!

IMO its OK but remember #1 you want to get biger youll have to eat for it, you have to have excess intake, be it clean food or so called dirty food the total intake needs to be more then you burn.

The program. Its OK. Your an Infant in training age and have honestly no clue how you react to training, whats better whats worse. I would suggest spend a LOT of time doing programs that are designed and proven to work, like the 1000’s here or hire someone to program you. Find out what works what doesnt start to build a vocabulary with your body.