T Nation

Thoughts on Smolov Deadlift?

Smolov squat program done with your conventional deadlift stance off a very low box with a saftey squat bar.

Is it just me or does this sound like it would put alot of weight on your deadlift?

Just thought I would ask because Im going crazy trying to think of ways to get my deadlift up without over training the movement. I figure because you cant use that much weight off a low box with a SSB it wouldnt burn you out as fast as just doing regular squats. And it would also have way more cary over than regular squats.

I have read your deadlift and bench go down when you do smolov so this sounds like it would work great for my deadlift and my squat.

Very informative, thank you.

It sounds like they dont like smolov to much, I have never used a SSB before and I never use boxes that are to low so If I was to just get a max on the SSB and go from there so Im confident I would be able to keep up with the program for quite a while if not the whole time.

It would just be 7 weeks long and based off a 8 day week, I dont work, I have unlimited food and supps and can sleep as much as I want. So as far as that goes Im set.

At the moment Im comeing back from a pec injury so I wont be pushing bench to hard just moving up 10lbs a week starting at 135 so theres no way my bench could suffer.

I was thinking something like:

Monday: chins 3x?
bench 3x10
abbs 3x?

tuesday:chins 3x?
abbs 3x?

wendesday:chins 3x?
skull crushers 3x?
abbs 3x?

thursday:chins 3x?
abbs 3x?

friday: chins 3x?
abbs 3x?

Anyone else?

I did the Smolov for the DL, and it was brutal. It did really really really work though. Problem is you need to be prepped for the work. If your conditioning sucks going into the Volume phase, you'll die and have to stop. If you're not used to frequent pulling, there's probably no way to do it. Get used to frequent work first, which will probably put weight on your DL, then lay low for 2 weeks and go into it. And pray.