Thoughts on My Workout Routine?

Hi Christian,

I have been training for around 5 years (with 3 years of being consistent and around 2 years off). I am just wondering what your thoughts on these and which do you think is more beneficial

I am currently doing 4 days split:
Chest & Triceps, Back & Calves, Rest, Shoulders & Biceps, Rest, Legs, Rest

I also did this for quite some time:
Chest & Shoulders, Back & Calves, Rest, Arms, Legs, Rest, Rest

When I did the 2nd split my arms definitely improved but I felt like my shoulders weren’t growing as much because after heavy chest work I would not be able to shoulder press heavily, so I stuck with a lot of laterals. I would say that shoulder was my strong point, but this split made me lose some size on my shoulders. I like the big shoulders and small waist look, So I wanted to keep it as my strong point.

Also training 5 days a week is not possible due to my job, also too much frequency just makes me defeated as I am a type 3 & type 1b mix (high acetylcholine) as you had suggested.

What do you think?
Thanks a lot

CT doesn’t assess home made training programs… And this is not a routine; no specific lifts, sets, reps, or progression, it’s a body part split. Quite different. Try posting this in bigger stronger leaner.

And also, as far as I’m familiar with CTs work the split is arguably the least important variable unless its entirely moronic.

You LOST shoulder size? You must be doing something terribly wrong.

Anyway I think any of these can work

It is very similar to this. Of course, there’s progression, I was just mentioning the split.

A little bit. Not hard to see when you train shoulders after a hard chest session when you used to train them first and fresh. I’m thinking of switching the first and second routine every other week. So that my arms will improve while keeping and even improving my delts by a bit. I think this will be the best way