Thoughts on My Upcoming GZCL Program

Hey guys,

Currently doing the GZCL UHF5wk program and am loving it. Definitely sticking with the method for the foreseeable future.

I love working in excel, so I made a 10 week GZCL program with calculations and the what not. Was curious if I could get some input. The template can be found here:

A bit about my goals with this program:

• I will be taking one full week off of training before starting this program, so I made a lighter intro week to get back in to the swing of things.

• I am becoming a big believer that the best builder of the main 3 lifts - squat, bench, and deadlift - is increased exposure to the movement pattern itself. The only real variations that are worth mentioning are pause DLs and Squats - I’m pretty new to both so I’ve kept reps per set low with higher overall sets in the T2 percentage range.

• This has me squatting 3 times a week (heavy, volume, pause); benching 4 times a week (incline - volume, heavyx2, and volume); OHP once (heavy), which I may add an additional volume day too if squatting 3 times becomes too much; and deadlifting twice (pause and heavy).

• this can be run 5 days in a row with 2 days off at the end OR an off day could be thrown in to give a break in between the final two squat sessions. As of right now, I’m going to run it 5 days straight for as long as possible.

• T3s: lower-body focused movements fall on Day 1 and Day 5 (heavy squat and heavy deadlift); the remainder of days use upper T3s. I like supersets, so I’ve used them for basically all my T3s.

• training max inputs are initially set to 100 for ease of calculation testing - they will of course change when I go to print off my sheets to take to the gym. If anyone is interested, I’d be happy to make the excel file public so people could input their numbers

• again, in sum, my goals are frequency, exposure, and building a hell of a lot of (managed) volume.

Jason.