T Nation

Thoughts on Jay Schroeder's Extreme Isometrics

Hey coach,

I’m a big fan of Joel Smith’s podcast, and one of the things he’s a big believer in are Jay Schroeder’s extreme isometrics (3-5 minutes+)

What are your thoughts on his system, if you have any?

Cheers,
Jason

Well, it’s essentially loaded stretching, which I’ve been using with athletes for 20 years and which is included in my second book (Theory and Application of Modern Strength and Power Methods) written 15 ish years ago.

I’ve also written articles about it both on my website and T-nation (search loaded stretching). And gave a presentation on that topic at the SWIS symposium, one of the biggest gathering of training and rehab experts in the world.

And it’s not something exclusive to Schroedder or invented by him (his variation has 2-3 particularities). John Parillo used them for bodybuilding 20+ years ago. Dante Trudel also recommended them for bodybuilding. Heck, Chuck Sipes (bodybuilder from the 60s) was using them as his primary lat exercise (hanging from a chin-up bar with 100lbs attached to his waist for 1-2 minutes). And even before that, it was a method used by gymnasts.

The “novel” elements that Schroedder brought to the table are:

1. The duration. Most other people who use this method (myself included) use 1-2 minutes. Although I have personally used as much as 3 minutes with some people. It is worth noting that Jay doesn’t have you start at 3-5 minutes (I’ve bought some online coaching from Jay for around 6 months), you build up to that level over time. For example, in a beginner program you use 30 seconds periods of extreme stretching with 10-15 seconds of rest for 5-6 sets. Sometimes you have one set of 2 minutes, rest than one set of 1 minute. His magic duration seems to be 3 minutes. But you don’t start right away with 3 minutes non-stop.