T Nation

Thoughts about this Routine

Hi all new to the site!

Just want to introduce myself before I badger everyone with questions and ask there opinions.

Little background about my self.

I’ve been training for 6-8 years or so, always looking to expand my knowledge on all sorts of physical training. Done some power lifting type routines, cross fit routines and similer workouts while in the army and traditional body building workouts.

Always been active with everything from Rugby (which I like to watch but dont play anymore) to my new passions of BJJ and Kickboxing.

I’ve got a good understanding on how diet and exercise work (got my bodyfat down to 8.9% once at 185lbs) and have bulked up to 220 lbs while doing my power lifting workouts where I was able to squat 405 lbs.

I’m currently weigh about 195 lbs now with prob 10-12% bf

I know there is much more to learn and am hoping I can find some knowledge and helpful insight on this forum!

Now to my quesion :stuck_out_tongue:

So I’ve just started this routine. Little more background on why I chose some of these exercises. My low back has been bothing me for a while now. Tightness in the morning and such. Tweaked it real good just over a month ago while at Jiu Jitsu doing nothing really physically demanding. Getting an MRI soon just to rule out anything major. I also notice my shoulders seem to round a bit forward.

Goals are to keep my size while upping my cardio and gain some strength…

Warm up with 5 mins jumping rope and then one-two light set of the first exercise

Monday: Chest Shoulders Tris

Incline Dumbbell press 3x8
Flat bench 3x8
Standing Mil press 3x8
Cable tricep extensions 3x10
Forget the name of this next exercise for my upper back but i grasp a rope handle on a cable machine and pull towards my face and end up in a double bicep pose. do this 3x8

Wednesday: Back, Bis and some core

Deadlift 3x8
One arm DB rows 3x8
The same upper back exercise as above 3x8
DB curls 3x10
Turkish get ups 3x5