Thinking of Enlisting in the Army

Does anyone have any advice?

Haven’t gotten any bites in the job market since I graduated in December and I want to do something that will set me up to do something once I get back into civilian life.

I’m highly considering doing something in the IT area, either with the satellites or a multichannel line operator or something like that, and picking up some certifications along the way.

Any advice?

I hear the Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders are hiring.

If you go into the military with a plan, you can’t go wrong with the experience. It can open a lot of doors for you down the road, not to mention giving you the opportunity to have a positive impact on the world.

As a former Naval Officer, I would sway people toward the Air Force if they were interested in more IT related work. The AF handles the bulk of that type of work.

Not sure, when you say graduated, if you mean college or high school, but if it’s college, perhaps you want to consider the officer route, i.e. OCS.

Either way, it’s not a bad decision, especially considering the economic climate. Good luck.

I think joining the military is a great thing. It gets you out from home and gives you some actual life experience. If you’re looking for schooling revolving around the IT area, I would personally go Navy instead of Army. Navy schools are some of the best, though I don’t know much about Army schools. You could also talk to other branches. Just take their ASVAB and see what you’re qualified to get into. No commitment required to take a couple tests.

[quote]Jason Lee wrote: